Skip to content
August 26, 2010 / Shalini Ambastha

LadyLike-Who me???

It’s been a while since I last wrote and my last two posts have been saddening to say the least. Now, this happy soul was craving to write something light and chirpy. But since the creative juices aren’t really helping, I’m taking up a topic that was doing rounds of the blogosphere some time back. It was being played like a game wherein ladies would talk about their habits/ reveal secrets about themselves which are considered as “sins against gender-stereotypes”.

So, scribbled below are ten things about me that aren’t necessarily masculine but many of them would definitely make a quintessential lady cringe in horror.

  • I look at make-up components/articles (not really sure what’s the right word to be used) as distant objects of fancy, nice to look at from a distance but errrr, what to do I with them exactly? Pink may look good on girls but it’s definitely not my colour.
  • I was the proud bearer of a unibrow till the age of twenty one.
  • I do not like receiving flowers; I think they’re better off alive.
  • During my NCC days at college, I’ve huffed and puffed in heat and dust, fired some real bullets and participated in rifle drills wherein you slap your hands repeatedly against the rifle butt to make them hard and throw the rifle up in the air by pushing against the iron foresight that leaves deep gashes in your hand. Btw, I cleared my NCC ‘C’ certificate exam with an A grade. 🙂
  • This one’s a latest addition: I swear at the drop of a hat and like it’s nobody’s business. I’m not very proud of it and would like to give my mouth a good rinse very soon.
  • I love to dance, give me music and you cannot hold me straight. But guess what, ten out of ten times you’ll find me engrossed doing the glorious cobra-snake charmer dance or the dhinchak bhangra on the dance floor rather than the graceful feminine moves.
  • Before the corporate world happened, I was a record holder for never carrying a handkerchief. My sweaty forehead always found refuge on my sleeves while the soiled hands went straight to the jeans making them darker by the day.
  • Sneakers have always been my favourite footwear. So much so that my girlfriends refused to take me out if I didn’t ditch them for a pair of heels!
  • I am capable of some serious bashing up; so stalkers and despos beware! In fact, I and my gutsy friends went after a crazy stalker some time back and would have beaten him black and blue had he not been saved by the public that day.
  • Lastly, I CAN carry my own luggage and I know how to open doors…thank you gentlemen!

As I finish the first draft of this post, my dear friend says the above points hold true for most of the non-girlies; but what the heck! This is MY blog and I shall write as I please. 😀

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. priya / Aug 27 2010 5:12 am

    he ehe hehe…who knows it better than me?? 😉 This goes out to all those **non-males** of the world trying to find a place for themselves!!

    • Shalini Ambastha / Aug 30 2010 5:32 am

      I have no clue what you’re talking about Priya!! :-/ But one thing I know for sure, I am not a “non-male”, the word is FEMALE!! :p hehehe

  2. Bharat / Aug 27 2010 5:43 am

    In short you are a lethal punch of Tomboy nature very exquisitely wrapped in great feminine looks. Rarely are people so candid about themselves. You deserve a standing ovation for this, and yeah, I am Clapping.

    Who knows it better than me as far as the flowers are concerned and yes the Dance too. Glad to know you and stay this way, heck, let all those who may scorn at this go take a walk in the Bay of Bengal.

    You absolutely Rock!!

  3. Kavita A / Aug 28 2010 6:55 am

    Lovellly post Shalu!!!!!!
    I love what all u hv written.. its HARD CORE Shalu way… every bit u mentioned…

    For those who say all non-girlies are this way!! I object!!!!…. even the ones gauche cos of the burden of feminism like me, cant mould this way… 😀

    You are honestly a rare species.. i vouch for this…
    And u being so frank and honest bout it .. makes me lov u even more 🙂 🙂
    U knw wt, i hv started giving example of u also 😀 😀 to those who expect girls to be a docile and mushy parasite 😀 😀
    I cn go on and on … but its a comment..not a blog… hehe ..in short!
    Its an “A” from me too.
    Always keep posting!!!! n keep smiling..
    lottsa love

    • Shalini Ambastha / Aug 30 2010 5:39 am

      Thanks Daddoo!! You know I love you and always will!! and It’s ok, where would be the variety if all of us were alike?? 😉

  4. Purba / Aug 30 2010 7:30 am

    Please, can we have a pic of you charming the snakes and doing dhinchack bhangra? And swearing is good, especially if you manage to shock people out of their wits.

    Absolutely loved your lal-mirch list!

    • Shalini Ambastha / Aug 30 2010 5:43 pm

      I dare not post any pics Purba, the last time I was caught in action, it was called a “flying circus” :D, and now that you’ve said it, I think I’d not bother with the mouth rinse anymore…..Thanks for liking the post, it’s an honour 🙂

  5. Ajay / Nov 1 2010 12:27 pm

    It brings a big smile on my face..whenever I read this shalini. 🙂 🙂 😀

Leave a Reply

